Skip to main content

APA Referencing - Education & Counselling students: Dictionaries/Encyclopaedias

This guide provides information on how to reference using the APA 6th edition referencing style. PLEASE NOTE: Theology students should use Chicago Footnote Style

How to reference dictionaries/encyclopaedias

In-text reference

According to Asquith (2010)...

OR

...as it had been identified (Asquith, 2010).

 

Reference list

Surname, Initial. (Ed.). (Year). Title of dictionary. Place of publication: Publisher

Asquith, G. H. (Ed.). (2010). The concise dictionary of pastoral care and counselling. Nashville, Tenn.: Abingdon Press.

In-text reference

According to Cully and Cully (1990)...

OR

...as it had been identified (Cully & Cully, 1990).

 

Reference list

Surname, Initial. (Ed.). (Year). Title of encyclopaedia. Place of publication: Publisher

Cully, I.V. & Cully, K.B. (Eds.). (1990). Harper's encyclopedia of religious education. San Francisco, Cal.: Harper & Row.

With author:

In-text reference

According to Siegel (2003)...

OR

...as it had been identified (Siegel, 2003).

 

Reference list

Surname, Initial. (Year). Title of entry. In Initial. Surname. (Ed.), Title of encyclopaedia. Place of publication: Publisher

Siegel, H. (2003). Philosophy of education. In Encyclopaedia Britannia. Edinburgh: Encyclopaedia Britannia.

 

 

With no author:

In-text reference

According to “Empathy” (1999)...

OR

...as it had been identified (“Empathy,” 1999).

 

Reference list

Title of entry. (Year). In Initial. Surname. (Ed.), Title of encyclopaedia. Place of publication: Publisher

Empathy (1999). In D.G. Benner & P. Hill, Peter (Eds), Baker encyclopedia of psychology and counselling (2nd ed.). Grand Rapids, Mich: Baker Book House.

In-text reference

According to “Differentiation” (2014)...

OR

...as it had been identified (“Differentiation,” 2014).

 

Reference list

Surname, Initial. (Year). Title of entry. In Initial. Surname. (Ed.), Title of dictionary/encyclopaedia. Retrieved from url of website

OR

 Title of entry. (Year). In Initial. Surname. (Ed.), Title of dictionary/encyclopaedia. Retrieved from url of website

Differentiation (2014). In S. Wallace. (Ed.), A Dictionary of education. Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780199212064.001.0001/acref-9780199212064-e-274?rskey=QbomB8&result=279

Loading
© 2016 Morling College. Morling College is an affiliated institution with the Australian College of Theology (CRICOS Provider 02650E). Morling College is a recognised Teaching Institution of MCD University of Divinity (CRICOS Provider 01037A). Morling College Counselling (CRICOS Provider 03265F).