Skip to main content

Chicago Footnote Referencing - Theology students: Books

This guide provides information on how to reference using the Chicago Footnote referencing style. PLEASE NOTE: counselling and education students should use APA referencing style

How to reference a book

Footnote

1st citation 

First name Surname, Title of the book: Subtitle of the book (City of publication: Publisher, Year), page number(s)

C. K. Barrett, The Acts of the Apostles: A Shorter Commentary (Edinburgh: T & T Clark, 2002), 226.

 

Subsequent citations

Surname, Shortened title of book, page number(s).

Barrett, The Acts of the Apostles, 233.

 

Bibliography

Surname, First name. Title of the book: Subtitle of the book. City of publication: Publisher, Year. 

Barrett, C. K. The Acts of the Apostles: A Shorter Commentary. Edinburgh: T & T Clark, 2002. 

 

Footnote

1st citation 

First name Surname and First name Surname, Title of the book: Subtitle of the book (City of publication: Publisher, Year), page number(s)

Stanley J. Grenz and Roger E. Olson, 20th Century Theology: God and the World in a Transitional Age (Downers Grove: Intervarsity Press, 1992), 191.

 

Subsequent citations

Surname & Surname, Shortened title of book, page number(s).

Grenz & Olson, 20th Century Theology, 203.

 

Bibliography

Surname, First name., and First name Surname Title of the book: Subtitle of the book. City of publication: Publisher, Year. 

Grenz, Stanley J., and Roger E. Olson. 20th Century Theology: God and the World in a Transitional Age. Downers Grove: Intervarsity Press, 1992. 

Footnote

NB: For four or more authors list only the first author followed by et al.

1st citation 

First name Surname et al., Title of the book: Subtitle of the book (City of publication: Publisher, Year), page number(s)

William Barclay et al., The Bible and History: Scriptures in their secular (London: Lutterworth Press, 1968), 155. 

 

Subsequent citations

Surname et al., Shortened title of book, page number(s).

Barclay, et al., The Bible and History, 162. 

 

Bibliography

NB: For four or more authors list all the authors in the bibliography

Surname, First name, First name Surname, First name Surname, First name Surname, and First name Surname. Title of the book: Subtitle of the book. City of publication: Publisher, Year. 

Barclay, William, John Paterson, Edgar Jones, Hugh Anderson, and Gordon Robinson. The Bible and History: Scriptures in their secular. London: Lutterworth Press, 1968. 

Loading

Referencing other types of books

Footnote

1st citation 

First name Surname, "Title of chapter," in Title of the book: Subtitle of the book,  ed. First name Surname (City of publication: Publisher, Year), page number(s)

Gene M. Tucker, “The Law in Eight-Century Prophets,” in Canon, Theology, and Old Testament Interpretations: Essays in Honor of Brevard S. Childs, ed. Gene M. Tucker, D. L. Peterson and R. R. Wilson (Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1988), 201.

 

Subsequent citations

Surname, "Title of Chapter," page number(s).

Tucker, “The Law in Eight-Century Prophets,” 205.

 

 

Bibliography

Surname, First name. "Title of Chapter." In Title of the book: Subtitle of the book, edited by First name Surname, page numbers of entire chapter. City of publication: Publisher, Year. 

Tucker, Gene M. “The Law in Eight-Century Prophets.” In Canon, Theology, and Old Testament Interpretations: Essays in Honor of Brevard S. Childs, edited by Gene M. Tucker, D. L. Peterson and R. R. Wilson, 201-216. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1988.

Footnote

1st citation 

First name Surname, ed. Title of the book: Subtitle of the book (City of publication: Publisher, Year), page number(s)

David A. Kerr and Kenneth R. Ross, eds., Edinburgh 2010: Mission Then and Now, (Eugene OR: Wipf and Stock Publishers, 2009), 263.

 

Subsequent citations

Surname, Shortened title of book, page number(s).

Kerr and Ross, Edinburgh 2010, 233.

 

Bibliography

Surname, First name, ed. Title of the book: Subtitle of the book. City of publication: Publisher, Year.  

Kerr, David A., and Ross, Kenneth R., eds. Edinburgh 2010: Mission Then and Now. Eugene OR: Wipf and Stock Publishers, 2009.

Footnote

NB: If a translator is listed in the source instead of an author then use the same format as an edited book. If both the original author and translator are listed then use the format below.

1st citation 

Original author First name Surname, Title of the book: Subtitle of the book, trans. First name Surname (City of publication: Publisher, Year), page number(s)

Hubertus R. Drobner, The Fathers of the Church: a comprehensive introduction, trans. Siegfried S. Schatzmann (Peabody, MA: Hendrickson Publishers, 2007), 393.

 

Subsequent citations

Original author Surname, Shortened title of book, page number(s).

Drobner, The Fathers of the Church, 391.

 

Bibliography

Original author Surname, First name, Title of the book: Subtitle of the book. Translated by First name Surname. City of publication: Publisher, Year.  

Drobner, Hubertus R. The Fathers of the Church: a comprehensive introduction. Translated by Siegfried S. Schatzmann. Peabody, MA: Hendrickson Publishers, 2007.

Footnote

1st citation 

Name of organisation, Title of the book: Subtitle of the book (City of publication: Publisher, Year), page number(s)

Institute for Ecumenical Research, Crisis and Challenge of the Ecumenical Movement: Integrity and Indivisibility (Geneva: WCC Publications, 1994), 13.

 

Subsequent citations

Name of organisation, Shortened title of book, page number(s).

Institute for Ecumenical Research, Crisis and Challenge, 25.

 

Bibliography

Name of organisationTitle of the book: Subtitle of the book. City of publication: Publisher, Year. 

Institute for Ecumenical Research. Crisis and Challenge of the Ecumenical Movement: Integrity and Indivisibility. Geneva: WCC Publications, 1994

 

Footnote

1st citation 

First name Surname, Title of the book: Subtitle of the book, Number ed. (City of publication: Publisher, Year), page number(s)

Tremper Longman and Raymond B. Dillard, An Introduction to the Old Testament, 2nd ed. (Grand Rapids MI: Zondervan, 2006), 47.

 

Subsequent citations

Surname, Shortened title of book, page number(s).

Longman and Dillard, An Introduction to the Old Testament, 61.

 

Bibliography

Surname, First name. Title of the book: Subtitle of the book. Number ed. City of publication: Publisher, Year. 

Longman, Tremper and Raymond B. Dillard. An Introduction to the Old Testament. 2nd ed. Grand Rapids MI: Zondervan, 2006.

Loading
© 2016 Morling College. Morling College is an affiliated institution with the Australian College of Theology (CRICOS Provider 02650E). Morling College is a recognised Teaching Institution of MCD University of Divinity (CRICOS Provider 01037A). Morling College Counselling (CRICOS Provider 03265F).