Skip to main content

Chicago Footnote Referencing - Theology students: Journal articles

This guide provides information on how to reference using the Chicago Footnote referencing style. PLEASE NOTE: counselling and education students should use APA referencing style

Journal style guide

Page numbers

When referencing a journal source write in the footnote the specific page number consulted. In the bibliography list the page range for the entire article.

DOIs

Digital Object Identifier (DOIs) are now applied to some journal articles that are available online. A DOI is a combination of numbers and letters which are assigned to identify content and provide a persistent link to it on the internet. 

Print copies: If you access a journal as a printed copy then you do not need to include a DOI in your footnote or bibliography.

Online copies with DOI: If you access a journal article through an electronic database or website then it could have a DOI which you need to include in your footnote and bibliography. 

Online copies without DOI: If you access a journal article through an electronic database or website and it does not have a DOI then you need to include the URL in your footnote and bibliography. 

Below are specific examples of referencing there different types of journal articles:

How to reference journal articles

Footnote

1st citation 

First name Surname, "Title of journal article: Subtitle," Title of journal Volume number, Issue number (Year): page number(s). 

Peter King, “The Inner Cathedral: Mental Architecture in High Scholasticism,” Vivarium 46, no.3 (2008): 266.

 

Subsequent citations

Surname, "Shortened title of journal article," page number(s).

King, “The Inner Cathedral," 268. 

 

Bibliography

Surname, First name.  "Title of journal article: Subtitle." Title of journal Volume number, Issue number (Year): page range of entire article. 

King, Peter. “The Inner Cathedral: Mental Architecture in High Scholasticism.” Vivarium 46, no.3 (2008): 253-274. 

 

Footnote

1st citation 

First name Surname, "Title of journal article: Subtitle," Title of journal Volume number, Issue number (Year): page number(s), doi:xxx

Christopher Southgate, "Re-reading Genesis, John, and Job: A Christian Response to Darwinism," Zygon: Journal of Religion & Science 46, no. 2 (2011): 385, doi: 10.1111/j.1467-9744.2011.01186.x.

 

Subsequent citations

Surname, "Shortened title of journal article," page number(s).

Southgate, "Re-reading Genesis, John, and Job," 390. 

 

Bibliography

Surname, First name.  "Title of journal article: Subtitle." Title of journal Volume number, Issue number (Year): page range of entire article. doi: xxx

Southgate, Christopher. "Re-reading Genesis, John, and Job: A Christian Response to Darwinism." Zygon: Journal of Religion & Science 46, no. 2 (2011): 370-395. doi: 10.1111/j.1467-9744.2011.01186.x.

Footnote

1st citation 

First name Surname, "Title of journal article: Subtitle," Title of journal Volume number, Issue number (Year): page number(s), URL.

Jack Dean Kingsbury, "The Significance of the Cross within Mark's Story." Interpretation: A Journal of Bible & Theology 47, no. 4 (1993): 372, http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,url,cpid&custid=s9398328&db=aph&AN=9402150817&site=ehost-live&scope=site. 

 

Subsequent citations

Surname, "Shortened title of journal article," page number(s).

Kingsbury, "The Significance of the Cross," 378. 

 

Bibliography

Surname, First name.  "Title of journal article: Subtitle." Title of journal Volume number, Issue number (Year): page range of entire article. URL.

Kingsbury, Jack Dean. "The Significance of the Cross within Mark's Story." Interpretation: A Journal of Bible & Theology 47, no. 4 (1993): 370-379. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=cookie,ip,url,cpid&custid=s9398328&db=aph&AN=9402150817&site=ehost-live&scope=site. 

Loading
© 2016 Morling College. Morling College is an affiliated institution with the Australian College of Theology (CRICOS Provider 02650E). Morling College is a recognised Teaching Institution of MCD University of Divinity (CRICOS Provider 01037A). Morling College Counselling (CRICOS Provider 03265F).