Skip to main content

Chicago Footnote Referencing - Theology students: Dictionaries/Encyclopaedias

This guide provides information on how to reference using the Chicago Footnote referencing style. PLEASE NOTE: counselling and education students should use APA referencing style

Dictionaries/Encyclopaedias

In most standard dictionaries and encyclopaedias authors of each entry are not specified. However, Bible/Theology dictionaries and encyclopaedias often have authored entries. The author’s initials are usually at the start or end of the entry and there will be a corresponding list of authors in the text.

Footnote

Title of Dictionary, ed. First name, Surname (if known), number edition. (Location: Publisher, Year of publication), s.v. "Title of Entry,” URL if entry came from online source.

Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004), s.v. “Parable.” 

 

Bibliography

NB: It is not necessary to list the Dictionary/Encyclopaedia in your Bibliography unless you have used it more than twice. Note that only the book will be referenced in your Bibliography, not every entry.

Title of Dictionary, ed. First name, Surname (if known), number edition. (Type of Reference e.g. CD-ROM). Location: Publisher, Year of publication. URL if entry came from online source.

Oxford English Dictionary. 2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004.

Some dictionaries or encyclopaedias have entries where each entry is written by a different author. Bible/Theology dictionaries and encyclopaedias often have authored entries. The author’s initials are usually at the start or end of the entry and there will be a corresponding list of authors in the text. Reference these like book sections or chapters since they are smaller parts of a larger text.

Footnote

1st citation

First name Surname, "Title of entry," in Title of the Dictionary, ed. First name Surname (City of publication: Publisher, Year), page number(s). 

I.H. Marshall, "Parable," in New Bible Dictionary, ed. I.H. Marshall, et al. (Leicester: InterVarsity Press, 1982), 877.

 

Subsequent citations

Surname, "Title of entry," page number(s).

Marshall, “Parable,” 878.

 

Bibliography

Surname, First name. "Title of entry." In Title of the Dictionary, edited by First name Surname, page numbers of entire chapter. City of publication: Publisher, Year. 

Marshall, I.H. "Parable." In New Bible Dictionary, edited by I.H. Marshall, A.R. Millard, J.I. Packer and D.J. Wiseman, 877-79. Leicester: InterVarsity Press, 1982.

Loading
© 2016 Morling College. Morling College is an affiliated institution with the Australian College of Theology (CRICOS Provider 02650E). Morling College is a recognised Teaching Institution of MCD University of Divinity (CRICOS Provider 01037A). Morling College Counselling (CRICOS Provider 03265F).