Help Guides: Christianity in History: Church History Web Resources

Useful Websites for Church History

There are many excellent Church History resources available on the web - especially primary documents. (But be cautious and wise in your choices!) Why not start collecting the ones you like in a Church History folder in your Bookmarks?

(Note: Don't forget to make use of the collections still available in hard copy. Sometimes it is much easier to read, digest, compare and contrast various excerpts by flipping from page to page physically!)

Christian Classics Ethereal Library
The CCEL collection includes the early church fathers: ante-Nicene, Nicene and post-Nicene.
Christian History Institute
Christian History Institute describes itself, "We strive to make our output look good and communicate well while sticking to the facts."
The Church in the Southern Black Community
This collection of primary materials concerning the African American church in the Southern states includes: autobiographies, biographies, church documents, sermons, histories and encyclopaedias.
e-codices: Virtual manuscript library of Switzerland
A collection of medieval and a selection of modern manuscripts of Switzerland by means of a virtual library.
more...less...
The goal of e-codices is to provide free access to all medieval and a selection of modern manuscripts of Switzerland by means of a virtual library.

At the moment, the virtual library contains 1605 manuscripts from 69 different collections. The virtual library will be continuously updated and extended.
Early Christian Writings: New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers
This includes Christian writings from the first three centuries. Also includes writings from the Gnostic leaders.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
This covers journal articles, book reviews and essays in books about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages.
Fourth Century Christianity
Texts for the study of the Church and its environment in the fourth century.
Internet Christian Library: Guide to Early Church Documents
This is a source for translated primary documents online.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook
The Internet Medieval Sourcebook brings together selected and excerpted texts for teaching purposes, from from available public domain and copy-permitted texts.
Perseus Digital Library
The collection covers the history, literature and culture of the Graeco-Roman world.
Post-Reformation Digital Library
Covers the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation/ Post-Reformation / Early Modern eras (late 15th-early 18th century.)
more...less...
Late medieval and patristic works printed and references in the early modern era are also included.
Project Wittenberg
A website of works by and about Martin Luther and other Lutherans.
The Tertullian Project
A collection of material about the Latin writer, Tertullian, and his writings.
Trove
Trove is maintained by the National Library of Australia and is a database that brings together content from libraries, museums, archives and other research organisations. This may be useful for Australian church history.
Wesley Centre Online
A collection of historical and scholarly resources about the Wesleyan tradition and theology.

Christianity in History

Contact the library

Other helpful Guides

Useful Websites for Church History