Every eBook the library has purchased is listed in the Library Catalogue, and some others as well. However, we have access to many more eBooks than just those listed in the catalogue.
Browse the selection of eBooks listed below, search the Catalogue for more titles, or use the eBook databases linked below for additional titles.
Revealing the richness and depth of understanding that chaplaincy brings to direct work with patients, these in-depth case studies and critical responses from other chaplains and healthcare professionals give insight into spiritual carer-patient work in a range of settings and the vital work of chaplains in the healthcare team.
Providing a bridge between research in healthcare and spirituality and practitioner perspectives, these essays on chaplaincy in healthcare continue dialogue around constructing, negotiating and researching spiritual care and discuss the critical issues in chaplaincy work, including assisted suicide and care in children's hospices. The integration of theory and practical application in these essays will be of interest to chaplains, healthcare practitioners, and students of theology and healthcare.
Pastoral psychologist Karen A. McClintock offers clergy competence and confidence as they care for trauma victims in their congregations and communities, provides practical skills to lower the risk of secondary trauma, and suggests culturally sensitive models for healing.
Outcome Oriented Chaplaincy (OOC) is a method of chaplaincy care that emphasizes achieving, describing, measuring, and improving the outcomes that result from a chaplain's work, alongside the parallel framework of evidence-based healthcare. This practical guide examines the underlying principles of OOC and incorporates first-hand accounts of chaplains who have made a measured difference to patients and their families.
While the biblical motif of knowing God is the focus of countless books and articles, being known by God has received little notice. This book explores the neglected biblical theme of being known by God in order to access the subject of personal identity.
Dementia is one of the most feared diseases in Western society today. Some have even gone so far as to suggest euthanasia as a solution to the perceived indignity of memory loss and the disorientation that accompanies it. In this book John Swinton develops a practical theology of dementia for caregivers, people with dementia, ministers, hospital chaplains, and medical practitioners.
Drawing on years of experience and research, Behers proposes new methods of providing spiritual care to people with dementia. By engaging with patients' senses, chaplains can encourage spiritual awakenings to offer comfort and support. Thoughtful and original, this key text educates chaplains on the most effective ways of providing spiritual care.
This book challenges the popular idea that expressive individualism--looking inward--is the sole basis of one's identity. Brian Rosner provides an approach to identity formation that looks outward to others and upward to God, which leads to a more stable and satisfying sense of self.
The greatest asset which people in pastoral care offer in a caring relationship is themselves, or to be more precise, the aspects of self which they have reflected upon. The purpose of this book is to offer an aid to those who seek to understand themselves better with a view to enhancing the quality of spiritual and pastoral care they offer.
Peter Scazzero shows leaders how to develop a deep, inner life with Christ, examining its profound implications for surviving stress, planning and decision making, building teams, creating healthy culture, influencing others, and much more.
Hunsinger draws on the resources of depth psychology, including object relations theory, trauma theory, family systems theory, nonviolent communication, and restorative circles. She then places her findings in a Christian theological context, emphasizing God's work in and through Jesus' passion, death, and resurrection, to present a cohesive, faith-based vision for healing.
In the midst of the chaos of a crisis comes opportunity. The history of the church tells us that crisis always precedes renewal, and the framework of renewal offers us new ways forward. A Non-Anxious Presence shows how that renewal happens and offers churches and leaders strategic ways to awaken the Church and see our culture changed for Christ.
Gathering together thoughts and visions of experienced practitioners, academics, educators and strategic leaders from around the world, this edited volume sheds light on the nature of chaplaincy and its role and significance within ever-changing contemporary healthcare systems. The focus throughout is that chaplaincy should not only be guidance for people in distress, as a form of crisis intervention, but is rather about helping to promote wellbeing and enhance people's quality of life.
Living Well and Dying Faithfully explores how Christian practices — love, prayer, lament, compassion, and so on — can contribute to the process of dying well. Working on the premise that one dies the way one lives, the book is unique in its constructive dialogue between theology and medicine as offering two complementary modes of care.
When it feels as if our struggles are overwhelming - and our capacity for faith and hope and love is diminished - how is it possible to maintain, never mind nourish, our relationship with God? The truth, as this deeply compassionate volume reminds us, is that Jesus came alongside people wrestling with mental health problems.
The chaplaincy team have set up some workspaces on Perlego where they add helpful books for different topics. Once you have registered for Perlego (instructions on Moodle), click on the links below to join the workspace.
Access Morling's curated collection of owned ProQuest eBook titles.
Log in with OpenAthens.
Access Morling's curated collection of owned EBSCO eBook titles.
Log in with OpenAthens.
A multidisciplinary collection of eBooks, created in cooperation with university presses and scholarly publishers in the Open Access model. The collection offers access to thousands of titles on various topics, without DRM (digital rights management) restrictions.
Open access - no logins needed.
Perlego is an eBook database that operates like a Spotify for books. Register using the link on Moodle to access Perlego eBooks through Morling College.