Journals come in two types: academic and professional. Academic journals are published through university publishers (or other academic publishers), whereas professional journals are published by professional associations.
Most of the library's journal subscriptions are to academic journals, which are published in "issues" up to 12 times per year. These journals use a system of peer review (other subject experts have already reviewed the research) before articles are published, which gives the research a level of innate credibility. It is also usually clear what type of research has been undertaken, and what the methodology is. These journals also encourage new and innovative research and thinking, so may present new and varied perspectives. Academic journals are generally considered a good source of current research and trends - more up to date than books.
However, many articles are written in inaccessible or jargon-heavy language. Some journals also have lengthy wait lists for publications because of their prestige, so their articles may not be as current as they appear.
Articles in professional journals are written by and for practitioners. This means the content is usually more practical, and will be written in more accessible language. Each article still upholds the standards of the professional body, and will be checked before publication, so the articles can be considered reliable. Since there is less prestige attached to these journals, there is generally no wait time for publication; therefore, articles will be more immediately contemporary.
However, practitioners tend to follow the ways of thinking that are employed and accepted within their profession. Journals may also choose not to publish articles that they feel challenge the accepted norms and values, so the perspectives may be less innovative and varied.
Most journals are found within databases (primarily on ProQuest and EBSCO; however, you may also use Taylor & Francis, JSTOR, or others). However, some journals are accessed as individual titles, not through the major databases.
Below are some subject specific journals and databases you may find useful in your studies. Some of these are open- access, and others will require you to log in with OpenAthens.*
*Most resources that use OpenAthens for authentication will not require a login if you are on campus.
These databases provide further access to a wide range of journals and publications.
This multi-disciplinary database provides active full text for more than 3,100 journals, including active full text for nearly 2,750 peer-reviewed journals.
Log in with OpenAthens.
An aggregate platform that brings together the world's largest collection of open access journals.
A unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world.
An index of open access and public domain journal articles, eBooks, images, media, and research papers.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Log in with OpenAthens.
This database brings together publicly available scholarly content from a number of different sources from around the world, including major subject repositories and open access journals.
Open access - no logins needed.