Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Putting Faith to Work (IN/PE709): EBSCOhost Database

This topic provides instruction in preparing an Annotated Bibliography.

What is the EBSCOhost database?

EBSCOhost is a database platform; it hosts many databases in many subject areas. The library uses 8 databases, including:

  • ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLA Serials. 

ATLA contains indexes and abstracts articles from 500+ theology & religion journals, as well as book reviews and essay collections. It includes full-text for many titles.

  • Academic Search Premier
  • Education Research Complete
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
  • Psychology and Behavioural Sciences Collection
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection
  • Research Starters - Education
  • Teacher Reference Centre
  • eBook Collection  
  • eBook Religion Collection  

EBSCOhost tutorials from EBSCOhost's YouTube Help

There are many EBSCOhost training videos available on YouTube, both official EBSCOhost sources and those produced by alternate organisations.  

Video: Introduction to EBSCOhost

Video: How to do a basic search in EBSCOhost 

EBSCOhost provides citation details!

EBSCOhost provides examples of how to cite your reference; this is very helpful, especially if you are not using a bibliographical program such as EndNote.

Consider this example:

You want an article on "Church History and its interpretation". You find the search results as seen in the image below. (Note: Click on each diagram below to show its details clearly.) You want to use the 4th article in the list, "Who makes history?" Click on the article you want to view its complete record.

The article now appears as below. You can click on the PDF icon to save your article as full text. If you use your article, you must cite it correctly. Find and click the CITE icon, on the right of the article page.

A list of citations will appear, using different referencing styles (See image below.) Scroll down to find CHICAGO 17:AUTHOR-FOOTNOTE; this is the style you must use in Bible & Theology units. You can copy and paste the reference into your Reference list. You can also copy, paste, and rearrange as appropriate for your footnotes.

 

 

Contact the library

Please contact us if you have any queries
    mailto:libraryhelpdesk@morling.edu.au

 (61) +2 9878 0201

 

If you have trouble, please ask us for help! 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search
© 2016 Morling College. Morling College is an affiliated institution with the Australian College of Theology (CRICOS Provider 02650E). Morling College is a recognised Teaching Institution of MCD University of Divinity (CRICOS Provider 01037A). Morling College Counselling (CRICOS Provider 03265F).