Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA Referencing - Education & Counselling students: Dictionary/Encyclopedia

This guide provides information on how to reference using the APA 6th and 7th edition publication style

Dictionary (APA6)

Dictionary

In-text reference

According to Asquith (2010)...

OR

...as it had been identified (Asquith, 2010).


Reference list

Surname, Initial. (Ed.). (Year). Title of dictionary. Place of publication: Publisher.

Asquith, G. H. (Ed.). (2010). The concise dictionary of pastoral care and counselling. Nashville, Tenn.: Abingdon Press.

Encyclopedia (APA6)

Encyclopedia

In-text reference

According to Cully and Cully (1990)...

OR

...as it had been identified (Cully & Cully, 1990).


Reference list

Surname, Initial. (Ed.). (Year). Title of encyclopedia. Place of publication: Publisher.

Cully, I.V. & Cully, K.B. (Eds.). (1990). Harper's encyclopedia of religious education. San Francisco, CA: Harper & Row.

Entry in a dictionary or encyclopedia (APA6)

Entry in a dictionary or encyclopedia

With author:

In-text reference

According to Siegel (2003)...

OR

...as it had been identified (Siegel, 2003).


Reference list

Surname, Initial. (Year). Title of entry. In Initial. Surname. (Ed.), Title of encyclopedia. Place of publication: Publisher.

Siegel, H. (2003). Philosophy of education. In Encyclopaedia Britannica. Edinburgh, UK: Encyclopaedia Britannica.

 


With no author:

In-text reference

According to “Empathy” (1999)...

OR

...as it had been identified (“Empathy,” 1999).


Reference list

Title of entry. (Year). In Initial. Surname. (Ed.), Title of encyclopedia. Place of publication: Publisher.

Empathy (1999). In D.G. Benner & P. Hill, Peter (Eds), Baker encyclopedia of psychology and counselling (2nd ed.). Grand Rapids, Mich: Baker Book House.

Online dictionary or encyclopedia (APA6)

Online dictionary or encyclopedia

In-text reference

According to “Differentiation” (2014)...

OR

...as it had been identified (“Differentiation,” 2014).


Reference list

Surname, Initial. (Year). Title of entry. In Initial. Surname. (Ed.), Title of dictionary/encyclopedia. Retrieved from url of website

OR

 Title of entry. (Year). In Initial. Surname. (Ed.), Title of dictionary/encyclopedia. Retrieved from url of website

Differentiation (2014). In S. Wallace. (Ed.), A Dictionary of education. Retrieved from http://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093
/acref/9780199212064.001.0001/acref-9780199212064-e-274?rskey=QbomB8&result=279

Dictionary, thesaurus, or encylopedia (APA7)

Dictionary, thesaurus, or encyclopedia

In-text reference

(Merriam-Webster, n.d.)


Reference list

A retrieval date is not used for works that do not change. When a work is routinely updated, use "n.d." (not dated) as the date and include a retrieval date.

Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Merriam-Webster.com dictionary. Retrieved July 6, 2020, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/ 

Entry in a reference work (APA7)

Entry in a reference work

Treat an entry in a reference work like a chapter in an edited work.

In-text reference

(Siegel, 2003)


Reference list

Author, A. A. (2020). Title of entry. In E. E. Editor (Ed.), Title of reference work (pp. 45-50). Publisher Name. https://xxxx

Siegel, H. (2003). Philosophy of education. In T. Pappas (Ed.), Encyclopaedia Britannica. https://www.britannica.com/topic/philosophy-of-education
© 2016 Morling College. Morling College is an affiliated institution with the Australian College of Theology (CRICOS Provider 02650E). Morling College is a recognised Teaching Institution of MCD University of Divinity (CRICOS Provider 01037A). Morling College Counselling (CRICOS Provider 03265F).